top of page

Defining Underground Music: Gunk Rock

Music has changed a lot over the years and there are now so many different styles and genres. I learned this year that music doesn’t need to be about anything to be good. You could make a song about making a sandwich in an alleyway and I would still listen to it. A lot of people also argue that mumble rap is “trash” but I just see it as another genre of music that most people take or leave. This year I discovered hyperpop which is an upcoming music genre that sounds very electronic and glitchy. I personally don’t really listen to it but I do think it is a new interesting sound.

There is a band that I found this year that I think defines underground music. Their music is like nothing I have ever heard. They use eerie beats and melodies and rap or sing about the most random things. They call themselves Gunk Rock and gunk stands for garbage punk. Their music is heavily influenced by punk rap and rock. For example, in their album “EEFALOPADOOPAGIN” the song “DRY” is about if rappers lived in a world with no water. So they are rapping and singing about being dehydrated and needing water. The beat is made from the sound of them grinding their teeth together which makes it more eerie and different sounding.


Recent Posts

See All

What Happened to Fortnite?

Fortnite Battle Royale has become a gaming phenomenon garnering hundreds of millions of users globally since its release in 2017. Yet many players, pros, and content creators have quit the game in the

bottom of page